Tuesday, July 10, 2012
Ragnar Relay
I have to admit I didn't want to do another Ragnar after I did my first one. I was exhausted. I ran more miles than I'd ever run in a 36 hour period. I felt slow. I felt lame for walking part of the last leg. I wanted my husband and kids. There was nothing that was going to persuade me to do it again. Fast forward 3 weeks ( yes it was only three weeks) and I decided that maybe it would be fun to do it again with my family. There are 11 of us siblings and I figured between us and our spouses we could come up with 12 daring folks who would be willing to give up some sleep and a weekend to do something crazy with me. So far, we've talked about it and I've gotten committments from 8 people. I think that's pretty good, but I've got to get the salewoman in me to get 4 more poor shmucks to join us. Really I'm excited at the prospect. There is definitely a sense of accomplishment when you're done, realizing that 12 people just ran 200 miles. It definitely gets you closer to those with whom you ride. (I'm sure the girls I rode with last year became privy to things about me that they didn't need to, but such is the experience, right?). Anyway, this post is to put it out there that I'm going to do the Ragnar again so that I can't chicken out. Here goes nothing...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment