Friday, June 29, 2012

Potty Training (the First of Many Posts, I'm Sure)

I have to admit I am not good at potty training. My son was SO easy to potty train. The first time I put him on the potty, he went. And he went every time thereafter. That's not to say that we didn't have accidents, because those were plentiful, but I really didn't have to sit with him hoping that he'd go. He understood the idea that the potty was where we do our business, so that's what he did.

Fast forward two years and here I am trying to potty train two girls. Everyone always says potty training girls is easier. But the people who say that didn't have my son, nor do they have my daughters. I have sat there with my girls for HOURS waiting for them to finally go. The first time, I sat with them for 2 1/2 hours letting them stand up and stretch every so often so that they didn't get stiff and totally uncomfortable. (You wouldn't believe the amount of singing and book reading you can do in 2 1/2 hours!) When I was giving them one such break, one of them took the opportunity to relieve herself all over the floor, very adeptly keeping her potty completely dry. Needless to say, potty training came to a dead halt that day. Who has the energy to keep going after something like that? Certainly not me.

About 2 weeks later, I was ready to try again. (This was 1 week ago). I sat there with them for 3 1/2 hours until my one daughter finally went. Then I sat for another hour and when my other daughter finally let 3 drops out (literally), I called it good and put them down for a nap. That was exhausting! So today I sat with them for 2 1/2 hours before they went (about 10 minutes apart thank goodness!). After such a success, I knew I needed a new tactic. I opted to just leave them bare naked to see it they would continue to hold it. The last time I put undies on them immediately after they went, and we had about 4 different accidents in about 10 minutes. How is that possible when they just went on the potty? I'm not sure. Anyway, all went well until I turned around about 1/2 hour later to see my daughter going on the floor. When I let out a yelp, she stopped and actually held it until I got her on the potty, where she finished. I would call today a success, but I have this sneaking suspicion that with such a victory today tomorrow is going to be...trying again.

Please let me know, am I missing something in potty training? Or was I just totally spoiled the first time and I'm now simply experiencing reality for everyone else? What tricks are there out there? Help!

No comments:

Post a Comment